Important information you need to know when getting a real estate license in Florida

Below is some important information you need to know when taking a real estate course to get your Florida real estate license. We want to make sure you know the little details that affect you and your course.  Please know that our school is licensed by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR) and all our courses are State Approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). We invite you to check us out with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) before you buy. The BBB verifies all reviews. Our School License Number ZH1002321

  • To start with, let me clear this one up.  There is no such thing as unlimited attempts to pass your final course exam without taking the entire course over each time.  This is State Law for All Real Estate Schools in the State of Florida.  Any school offering unlimited tries to pass the final course exam is failing to tell you that you must take the entire course over each time.
    • The State Law says that you have two attempts to pass the course final exam.  If you fail the first exam, you must wait 30 days and take a different end-of-course final exam.  If you fail the second final exam, you must take the entire course over.
      • Our school provides you with the study material you need to help you do well on your final course exam at no extra charge.  You will know exactly what to study for your end-of-course final exam so there is no need to worry.
  • As of January 1, 2020, default REcampus course access will change from 12 months to 6 months.  This change will be for all real estate schools in Florida with REcampus courses.  Any student who purchases before this date will continue to receive a longer access period.
    • Students will no longer have one year to complete an online course.  The majority of students complete their courses within the first 6 months of access.  And while some students take longer than the initial 6 months, only an additional 3 percent of students complete the course between months 7 and 12. By shortening the access period, students will have a raised sense of urgency to complete their course.  This will also mean that students will be working in the most current course available and the content will be up-to-date.  This change will benefit the student.
  • Online Course ExtensionsAs of October 30, 2019, Dearborn will begin charging for course extensions.
    • Pricing Pre-Licensing Course Extensions:
    • 30-day—$49
    • 90-day—$89
      • Continuing Education/Post-Licensing, Exam Prep, and QBank Course Extensions:
        • 30-day—$19
        • 90-day—$29
  • About The Sate Exam – Besides your final course exam, you will have to pass the state exam before you can get your real estate license.
    • You must make an account and apply for your license the DBPR (Department of Business and Professional Regulations) and get your fingerprints done.  The state does a background check to make sure you are eligible to sit for the state exam.  You cannot take the state exam until you are approved.
    • You can submit your application with the DBPR before you take your course, while you are taking your course or after you take your course.
    • The state says they have up to 90 days to process and approve your application.  It usually only takes about 2 weeks to get your approval back once you submit your fingerprints and application.
    • If you go to the contact us on our website and call Paula Stone, 850-57-7991, she will be happy to answer any questions you have and she will walk you through making your account with the DBPR and filling our your application online.  She will also help you with the fingerprinting.
      • Most online students start their course and then submit their application.  That way they can be working on their course while they wait on the approval.
      • Classroom students should submit their application as soon as possible.  We recommend that classroom students submit their application before starting class so they can go straight and take the state exam as soon as possible after passing.
    • Your approval will come in the form of a letter to your email.  The email will be from Pearson Vue and will have your approval number called a FLREAPP number.  There will also be information on how to make your appointment to take the state exam when you are ready.
    • The state exam is taken at a Pearson Vue testing center near you.  You can not schedule to take the state exam without your approval number. You will have unlimited attempts to pass the state exam as long as your approval and your course completion certificate are not expired.
  • After you get your license – After you get your license you must do your Post 45 hour course.  If you don’t complete it and pass the end-of-course final exam before your first renewal, you will lose your license down to nothing.  You will have to reapply with the state, take the course over and pass the state exam again.
              • The post 45 is just as hard as the pre-license course.  You must pass a timed 100 question final course exam.